Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Home Education Fake Certificates : FG Inaugurates Inter-ministerial Committee To Probe Alleged Degree Racketeering

Fake Certificates : FG Inaugurates Inter-ministerial Committee To Probe Alleged Degree Racketeering

by Admin
0 comment

Fake Certificates : FG inaugurates inter-ministerial committee to probe alleged degree racketeering

The Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman, has Inaugurated a 12 man committee, mandated to review the role of any MDAs or its officials in facilitating the recognition and procurement of fake certificates in question.

While reading out the terms of reference of the inaugurated inter-ministerial committee in Abuja, Prof. Mamman, urged the committee to review existing policies and procedures related to accreditation and certification to identify weaknesses contributing to the issue.

The committee must also examine the rules, procedures and processes for recognition and accreditation of foreign universities and programmes by the Federal Ministry of Education.

It will also “establish if unapproved foreign institutions (Degree Mills) exist or not in Nigeria in whatever form, with their identities and locations if any.”

The committee will “make appropriate recommendations for review of any rules, procedures, processes to prevent re-occurrence and sanctions for identified erring officials”.

It will further “Make other recommendations that will strengthen the system of recognitions, accreditations and quality assurance of degrees in Nigeria

According to the terms, the members should examine the extant rules, procedures and processes for granting of provisional licences to new universities by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Mamman, therefore, charged the committee to be deliberate about their assignment and deliver within the period.

The committee had, however been mandated to complete the investigation within eight weeks from the date of inauguration.

On his part, Chairman, Board of Trustees, Committee of Vice Chancellors of Nigerian Universities (CVCNU), Prof. Jibrila Amin, who chaired the inaugurated committee, while responding on behalf of the committee, assured the Federal Government and Nigerians of a good job within the stipulated time.

Other members of the committee are Chris Maiyaki , Acting Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission (NUC), Amb. Lazarus Ikpasaba from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Mr Abel Olanrewaju from the Office of the National Security Adviser

Others are Omeh Nwokpoku from the Office of the National Security Adviser, Amina Lugga from the Federal Ministry of Youths, and Mrs Doom Iyortyom from the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us

The Drum Reporter is a leading online news platform with interest cutting across news, politics, sports and current affairs.

Editor' Picks

Follow Us

The Drum Reporter, A Media Company 2023 All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by ERICLAFIA